Intellectual Honesty

nolde-sailing

My primary goal as a teacher is to introduce my students to great and glorious questions–to educate them in the art of discovering the Great Why. I want to inculcate in them the habit of curiosity, of becoming acquainted with a question, and getting to know all about it.

Take a question out to lunch, find out it’s favorite color, and discover what other questions it likes to socialize with on the weekends. What are its plans for Labor Day? Has it ever been in trouble with the law? Does it attend church on Sunday?

Better yet, I hope my students invite questions to go with them on outings as they discover the world in which they live. Sail with them to Byzantium and together build a small hut on the shore and watch the tide.

Daily Prompt:Educate

7 thoughts on “Intellectual Honesty

  1. “…to educate them in the art of discovering the Great Why.” I love this! One of my professors always asked us the why’s, and it’s one of the reasons why he’s my favorite. It’s a really great way to engage the mind of students!

    Like

  2. I was actually just thinking about why there are less curious people in the world than I’d expect. (I just got done working at a doggie daycare in which one of the dogs “couldn’t drink water” because of seizures, but none of my coworkers asked, “So how does he get his fluids?”) I think yours is an amazing teaching method!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Photographer Interview – Cendrine Marrouat – “When the Mind Travels: A Poetic Journey into Photography”, “Life’s Little Things. Les petites choses de la vie” & “Life’s Little Things: The Quotes” | to

Leave a Reply

