Rhino Between the Lines

Christensen-Sisters

You are what you create. Or do you create what you are? Or do you become what you create? Malcolm the bard

“That is some picture, Elbert,” said Wilfred admiringly. “I don’t know how you do it.”

The others crowded around the table where Elbert was seated.

“May I?” asked Rhino.

Elbert nodded, and Rhino held the picture aloft.

“This is great,” he said. “It’s like you, and yet it isn’t. There is something different about it—something that is not you.”

“Come on, Elbert, confess,” Skandar teased. “What inspired this picture? Do you have a secret self that none of us know about?”

They all laughed except Rhino.

“What if we could find out?” he asked. “What if we could visit and see for ourselves Elbert’s source of inspiration? Wouldn’t that be interesting?”

There was silence in the room. Elbert looked scandalized.

“I’m serious,” said Rhino. “Wouldn’t it be great if we could communicate with each other through our thoughts and inhabit each other’s inner worlds?”

“NO!” said the others in unison.

“Rhino, you can’t be serious,” said Skandar, laughing. “Imagine what a disaster that would be. Wilfred would probably break something.”

(“Hey, I heard that.”)

“Trevor would wander off, never to be heard from again, and I would find any and all accidents waiting to happen.”

“And what about Rhino?” Wilfred asked.

Skandar thought for a moment.

“Rhino? Hmm…I think that Rhino would find whatever is wrong and would fix it—make it perfect.”

“I don’t want Elbert to be perfect,” Wilfred protested. “I love him the way he is.”

Elbert leaned over and patted Wilfred on the shoulder.

“Thank you, brother,” he said. “Your point, however insulting, is well put.”

He then addressed the others.

“Wilfred is right. Even if we could acquire the ability to walk in the inner worlds, that doesn’t mean that we should. If there is a mystery about myself, I prefer to let my artwork reveal what it is.”

“Right,” said Trevor. “Whoever I am is expressed in my music; I am content to keep it that way.”

At first, Rhino made no answer. It was apparent to him that his brothers did not share his desire. For now, it didn’t matter. He would eventually persuade them to his way of thinking. That Rhino did not know himself what he thought was no deterrent.

“Of course,” he said. “So true. I don’t know what I was thinking.”

Daily Prompt:Inhabit

 

One thought on “Rhino Between the Lines

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Justin Hamlin – “Jezebel”, “Dog Meat”, “The Samurai of Gosford Green” and “Tenacity (Castle Book 1)” (Urban Fantasy/Crime Thriller/Horror) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

