Amusing Partners

Waterhouse-Trevor

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

Salvor Hardin ~ Foundation by Isaac Asimov

Between the Lines ~ The Faerie Queen

Ed heard the door open.

“Thank goodness, you’re here,” he said. “Please, sit; I need your help–immediately.”

Clio and Calliope sat down at the table, looking mildly amused and somewhat puzzled.

“Well?” they said.

“It’s like this,” said Ed. “You remember when Muse and I wrote that nice little pastoral piece about trees and shepherds and babbling brooks? Well, now she’s got it into her pea brain that I should write an epic.”

“What?”

“That’s right! An epic—She thinks I should trade in my pipes and flutes for a trumpet.”

“For Heavens’ sake, why?”

“Oh, she’s hell-bent on…how did she put it? ‘Rivers of wrath, oodles of blood, outrageous acts of foolishness disguised as courage, and unbelievable stupidity passing for love’, and all set in a completely unreal world of fantasy.”

Clio shrugged.

“So she wants you to write an epic. Calliope can help you punch it out in a wink.”

“It’s more than that,” Ed groaned. “Muse wants it to be a morality play. What do I know about morals? The last time I had morals, I got into no end of trouble. Besides, I think Wilson borrowed them a while back and hasn’t returned them.”

“Well, if it’s morality you need, Clio got loads she can lend you, “ said Calliope. “She has all those histories and such of Faerie knights and whatnot.”

“Do you really, Calliope?”

“Sure thing. If it weren’t for morality, there would be precious little history to record.”

Ed looked relieved, but then he frowned.

“Look here,” he said. “If I go messing around with morals, who knows what the consequences will be. I don’t want to be accused of abusing my muses for my own amusement. After all, look at what happened to King Arthur and all he suffered. You both have to promise to forgive me if we all end up dead.”

“Er…if we’re dead, does it really matter?”

“Then, how about a pre-forgiveness?”

Clio and Calliope looked at each other and nodded.

“That will work.”

“Great! Then helpe thou my weake wit, and sharpen my dull tong.”

To Be Continued.

Daily Prompt:Partner

5 thoughts on “Amusing Partners

    • Thank you for nominating me for the Liebster Award; I really appreciate it. After looking up what it is, I don’t think I can accept it. The rules state that the award is for “the sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.” I am new to blogging–I don’t know eleven bloggers that fit that description. (Maybe I should get out more.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

