Foggy Notion

Fog

Rhino Between the Lines

Amalia looked around in wonder.

What is this place? she thought. Look at all this fog! Why, I can’t see more than fifty feet in any direction.

“Hey!”

A voice called out behind Amalia, making her jump. She turned around and saw a woman walking out of the fog, a tentative smile on her face.

“I didn’t expect to see anyone here besides me,” said the woman. “When it gets foggy like this, I can’t even see myself. Well, here you are, and who are you, my dear?”

“Er, my name is Amalia.”

“Pleased to meet you. I’m Mrs. Notion. Welcome to my world.”

“Your world!” said Amalia. “And what world is that?”

Mrs. Notion laughed and rapped the side of her head with her knuckles.

“Why, the one inside here! This is my world and you’re in it.”

“Oh, I beg your pardon,” said Amalia. “I did not mean to intrude.”

“It’s quite alright,” said Mrs. Notion. “I was in the mood for company. It’s not often that I get any visitors—especially on a foggy day like today. Will you join me?”

“Certainly,” said Amalia. “Where are we going?”

“I haven’t the foggiest,” said Mrs. Notion. She and Amalia walked down the road and disappeared into the fog.

Daily Prompt:Foggy

4 thoughts on “Foggy Notion

  1. Thank you. Amalia is a character in The Book of Rhino. She has the gift of unique perception which allows her to enter the inner world of other people. (inspired by C. S. Lewis’ “vast and perilous estates.”) Since she has just discovered her gift and hasn’t yet mastered it, she sometimes inadvertently finds herself in other people’s worlds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

