Brain Loops

the_infinite_road

(Excerpt from Rhino’s journal)

Recently in Sunday school class, the teacher began the lesson with a music video of “Do You Hear What I Hear?” It was sung a cappella by a group of five young men who call themselves Home Free. The song was beautifully sung, and the video was beautifully filmed. There was just one tiny distraction–one of the singers looked like Sirius Black (Harry Potter’s godfather.)

I could have dismissed this silly thought except another one crept in. I remembered that Harry read an article about Sirius Black in a wizard gossip magazine called The Quibbler. The news article claimed that Sirius Black was actually Stubby Boatman, the lead singer of a group called The Hobgoblins. All this is going through my head while I am sitting in Sunday school watching a music video of “Do You Hear What I Hear?”

This is an example of what it’s like living with my brain. My brain has a mind of its own and insists on thinking its own thoughts. It is so self-willed that it wakes me up during the night–when I would rather be sleeping–and wanders about, poking its nose into all sorts of things. What does one do with an untamed brain!

The sad irony is I have made my brain this way. I have carefully nurtured it, fed it, exposed it to life’s experiences, and have allowed it to grow up unfettered by hidebound thinking. I could not bear to shackle its free-range curiosity and encouraged its loops around a Mobius strip. Now I wonder…have I created a monster?

If so, I am responsible for it. I must embrace my brain and love it for what it is and allow it to love me in its own unique way, even it that means I am inundated with strange thoughts during Sunday school or at three o’clock in the morning.

Therefore, despite my occasional grousing, I am thankful that my brain has developed into the thinker that it is. I would not have it any other way. And what do I get in return? Just this: I can sit down at any time and write; all I have to do is draw from the reservoir of ideas that my brain keeps so thoughtfully filled.

Daily Prompt: Loop

Leave a Reply

