Soap Bubble

Soap Bubble

A typical Calculus problem:

“Given that the circumference of a sphere increases at a rate of 15 millimeters per minute at what rate is the volume changing when the circumference is 120 millimeters?”

One might wonder why this is so important. Well, consider a soap bubble. If it keeps inflating, it eventually reaches a breaking point and bursts. Now I don’t know about you, but the idea of expanding to the point that my insides burst out of my skin is not at all pleasant; if fact, it’s something I would like avoid at all costs. A soap bubble might feel the same way.

Take the soap bubble pictured above. As I look at a it, I notice its surface shimmers with a rainbow of blue, green, and purple. I can see miniature houses and trees reflected and rotated through its origin. I can imagine a tiny head peeking through the window. This soap bubble could be a place that people call home.

Oh, no! What if the bubble bursts? What would happen to those little guys? What would happen to all their tiny trees and houses? What if they are WHOs and I am their Horton?

Going back to the math problem: In someone’s world, finding the rate at which the volume increases is important. For that reason, I would calculate that the volume increases at a rate of 10,942 cubic millimeters per minute.

I think caring for something as fragile as a soap bubble expands a person’s capacity for taking care of other fragile things, like children, friendship, and peace.

Please don’t burst my bubble!

Daily Prompt:Volume

Leave a Reply

