The Deepest POV

“Are these magic cloaks?” asked Pippin.

“I do not know what you mean by that. They are fair garments, and the web is good, for it was made in this land. They are elvish robes certainly, if that is what you mean. Leaf and branch, water and stone; they have the hue and beauty of all these things under the twilight of Lórien that we love; for we put all the thought of all that we love into all that we make.”

Celeborn ~ The Fellowship of the Ring

The Quintessential Editor (welcome back, Corey) recently posted a blog about deep POV or “Show, Don’t Tell.” His article was very informative and got me thinking about the concept of Show, Don’t Tell. I realized that the deepest POV, the biggest example of Show, Don’t Tell in The Book of Rhino is mine.

To read my book is to read about its author, S. M. Hart. I have woven the thought of everything I love into the story, and the result is magic.

Like the elves of Lórien, I love music, poetry, and beauty. Like them, I love family, friends, and fellowship. Like them, I love truth, integrity, and compassion. Equity, justice, and freedom have all gone into The Book of Rhino.

In writing this story. I have not merely told everyone my vision of how the world could be—I have shown it.

Rhino Photo

 

Leave a Reply

