On Being Subtle

Rhino Photo

On March 31, 2017, The Book of Rhino ~ The Revelation by S. M. Hart was released on Amazon and on Smashwords. I found it on Smashwords, but I could not find it on Amazon until a week later when I asked FBP for help. So far, the release has been a low-key event.

I’ve observed that other authors put out advance notifications of their books’ release dates. They have drawings for give-aways; they have contests, scavenger hunts, and cover teasers. I once saw a book cover wrapped in brown paper; the paper was torn away piece by piece (like a strip tease) until the entire cover was revealed. And, of course, Twitter and Facebook are flooded with book promotions and advertisements. Compared to all that, my book release was very low-key.

I shared with my friends on my private Facebook page that Rhino was published and got a lot of positive, supportive responses. It was wonderful. After a week or so, I finally posted the news on my public Facebook page and on Twitter. Low-key.

The thing is, I don’t know what to do. If I follow the advice I’ve read online, I will aggressively promote my book in a passive sort of way. No SPAM is the most prominent message about book promotion. It’s the most obvious and obnoxious way of marketing; but there are also subtle ways to promote your book that are blasted all over the Internet.

Ten (subtle) ways to market your book. Twelve (even more subtle) ways to attract readers. Five (extremely subtle) rules to write a best seller that are so subtle, so surefire, we cannot list them here–you’ll have to buy the book.

However, with so much subtlety floating around out there, everyone knows everyone else is being very subtle about marketing their books–but at least they are not SPAMming. Too subtle for that. I suppose in my own low-key way, I, too, am being subtle. Oh, well.

Note to Self: When Jack and I visit Yosemite, we enjoy riding on the shuttle bus; we call it “The Subtle Shuttle.” We love calling it that, but I don’t know why. Maybe it was because our very first conversation was onboard the Subtle Shuttle. We road around the valley floor for about an hour, while Jack was subtly sizing me up and deciding if he wanted to marry me. Very low-key.

Leave a Reply

