Washington Street

In honor of Dr. Seuss ~ Peace be upon him.

 

I was out walking and whom did I meet?

A man with a stick on Washington Street.

Now one stick’s okay but it’s sort of a bore.

He needs more people, at least seven more

To show off their sticks and carry them proudly,

Carry them gladly and carry them loudly.

 

Then I thought that those sticks just weren’t good enough.

Suppose they had guns – they would really look tough.

But why stop with guns as they marched to the beat.

They should have assault rifles on Washington Street.

 

Assault rifles, yes, a bazooka to start…

But they need so much more if they want to look smart.

I know! They’ll tow a large cannon behind,

The glowing and blowing-up-everything kind.

 

As they march, they will need some support from the air

So I’ll make sure that bombers are flying up there.

And rockets and nuclear warheads – so sweet!

What a spectacle marching on Washington Street!

 

And as I beheld all the riot and noise,

I saw that it frightened the girls and the boys.

No one laughed, no one sang, no one clapped to the beat

Of the terrible fury on Washington Street.

 

I knew right away I must do something quick.

I ran up to the man who was swinging his stick.

“Oh, please, sir,” I asked, “what will you do

With your stick that you have accompanying you?”

 

“This stick?” asked the man. “Why, I think it’s just right

In the length and the strength for making a kite.”

 

A kite! Oh, how wonderful! That would be grand.

A much better site than the one I had planned.

And later that day as I walked through the crowds,

I saw the man’s kite soaring up to the clouds.

 

It shone like a star, its rays clear and sweet.

And to think that I saw it on Washington Street.

Leave a Reply

